Uncategorized

‘Everything Everything’ by Nicola Yoon – Book Review

‘Everything Everything’ by Nicola Yoon is a young adult contemporary novel based around a young woman, Maddy who suffers with SCID or “bubble child” disease. This means she is basically allergic to everything. She lives with her mum in a quiet suburb in a specially adapted house and sees her nurse everyday, but on the whole, nobody else.

As you can imagine, this is no life for a teenage girl and Maddy longs to be “normal” though she accepts the cards she’s been dealt with and on the whole, she’s a likeable character and very headstrong despite18692431 having no access to the outside world.

This book is a romance and the love interest in this book, Olly, is a super-cute, genuine guy with his own issues who dotes on Maddy.

The book is all about the dangers of love and the risks we take for love and if that sounds interesting to you, then seriously I’d go for it. This book isn’t just a read, it’s more of an experience and this is backed up by the quirky and fun layout.

But I won’t lie to you, I had a lot of issues with this book.

  • The lack of development in Maddy’s mum’s character makes the story, on the whole a really difficult read. You’re left asking “why..why..WHY” a lot.
  • The twist happens too late and the book is doomed before it’s brought in. This is a shame but true.
  • The nurse, although a family nurse, is highly unprofessional. Putting your patient’s life at risk? Yeah, good one.
  • Everything in the book is all just a bit too convenient, which you will understand if you pick it up.
  • The end was way too sudden like..what?
  • Given the layout of the book, it could have benefited with maybe 25 more pages just to explain everything a little bit more.

I gave the book a solid 3/5 stars.

It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. I don’t feel like Maddy’s illness was given the medical justice it required . That being said, this book is perfect for fans of John Green and if you’re looking for a book to read in one sitting, this is it.

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! xo

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “‘Everything Everything’ by Nicola Yoon – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s