Uncategorized

My Top 10 Books of 2016!

After the whirlwind year that 2016 was, I decided to round it up with my Top 10 books of the year. These may not have come out in 2016, but it’s when I first read them. Hope you emjoy my list. So excited to see what amazing books 2017 brings! 

 

10. ‘In Order to Live’ by Yeonmi Park (2015) 

I won this book on twitter. This book is an autobiographical memoir of Yeonmi Park’s true life experience of when her and her family tried to defect from North Korea. It brings a lot of light to a pretty much unknown country ad the poverty, torture and atrocities the people there face. It’s not a pleasurable read, its harrowing but it’s so important. it’s great if you have an interest in that area but also if you don’t, it’s so engaging and it completely broke my heart but in my opinion, it’s a must read.

9. ‘Teach Drama: How To Make Money as a Freelance Drama Teacher’ by Samantha Marsden (2016)

I was sent a copy from Sam. This book is by far the best cszf2r5wiaazk3sresource of its kind I’ve read. Believe me, I’ve read a few. It covers absolutely everything you could possible need to know and also things you want to kn

ow. From after school clubs, to health and safety, finances and a list of contacts. This book is basically a drama student/teacher’s Bible.

 

8. ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ by Jenny Han (2014)

I absolutely loved diving into Lara-Jean’s mind. She’s so sweet and stylish and one of the best things about this book is the bond she has with her family. It portrays that infamous “love triangl
e” in a way that, for the first time, I didn’t find annoying! Jenny Han’s writing is flawless and adorable. I really enjoyed the sequel too.

 

7. ‘The Bo51a99tea6il-_sx317_bo1204203200_ok Thief’ by Markus Zusack (2005) 

I kept hearing amazing things about this book so I just knew I needed to pick it up. It was one of the first books of the year I read so I have memories of travelling through the outskirts of Bristol, on a freezing cold Bus, with tears streaming down the face because th
is book packs a punch. I think it’s better to go this book blind but it’s basically WW2 historical fiction told from the perspective of death. If that doesn’t convince you to pick it up, I don’t know what will.

 

6. ‘Hagseed’ by Margaret Atwood (2016)

I went to a talk at Cambridge University about arts in prison and one of the talkers mentioned this book and I knew that I HAD to read it and I would LOVE it. It’s part of the Hogarth Shakespeare series and is a retelling of ‘The Tempest’ and focuses around a man who puts on a production of the play with some men in Prison. It’s a flawless narrative and te style is refreshing to read. This was first Atwood and I’ll definitely pick up others. I probably loved this one so much because…well…Shakespeare!

 

5. ‘Nevernight’ by Jay Kristoff (2016)29845906-_uy200_

Kelly at over at KellysRamblings kindly sent me a copy! This book was everything I wanted it to be and more. I had an absolute blast reading it. It has everything you could want in a fantasy book: a great backstory, a kick-ass female protagonist, a boarding school, romance, action, death, blood, and a shadow cat called Mr Kindly. I may eve
n reread it and that’s unheard of with fantasy and me! Loved it and cannot wait for the sequel!

 

4. ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher (2007)

I was completely drawn in by this story and I would definitely recommend teaming it with the audio book when the tapes are played because it makes this book feel SO real. I read it right at the beginning of the year and it’s survived in my top 5 right to the end. It has a trigger warning for suicide so bear that in mid before you pick it up. I have never felt physical pain for how strong an emotion is in book before than when I read this. It’s so important.

 

3. ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’ Script by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne and JK Rowling (2016)

Okay so I know t13873205_10153597340305653_7836096953955976027_nhis book totally divided opinion but I really really loved it. I thought it was fun, intense and it was like falling into home all over again. I loved the new characters we met, especially Scorpius! He is just wonderful. I think the plot they decided to follow was really interesting and it meant we got to see characters we thought we’d never see again,which made me VERY emotional. I read this on holiday in Wales so i have good memories of the experience and I am just dying to see it on stage. I definitely consider the story as canon. It was so so so good!

 

2. The ‘Noughts and Crosses’ series by Malorie Blackman (2001-2008) 

This series is by far my favourite so far, like, ever. It’s so wonderful in every way, eve the heart breaking bits. I read all four books within 48 hours when I went to my boyfriends’ familys’ house for a weekend and they had no WiFi (amazing what that can do for us, right?). I can’t possibly summarise all four books adequately in this teeny blog post but it has love, hate, tragefy, trauma, death, family…it has everything. I re-read the first book many, many times but this is the first time I’ve read all of them. I constantly recommend this series to people. I fell head over heels in love with multiple characters and was so sucked in. Sephy is a wonderful character. This series is just…everything.

 

1. ‘Small Great Things’ by Jodi Picoult (2016)

This book completely blew me away. I don’t pick up adult contemporary very often and I have never read Picoult before by oh my word, this book wasmall-great-things-hc-400ws absolutely breathtaking. It focuses around the death of a new born baby, a black midwife is blamed for the death and we are throw into a role of racial battles, uncertainty and emotion. The book is told from several POVs including the midwife, the father of the baby who is a white supremacist and many more. Being white and British, these kind of issues have been kind of hidden to me but this book
made me think long and hard about how this kind of prejudice happens even today (the book mentions Obama as president, so, it’s set in present day). Picoult manages to make you sympathise with a white supremacist…which…what? This just shows how flawless her storytelling is as, ultimately it is that baby that tragically passed away that lies at the heart of the story. As well as what or who did it. A phenomenal book.

 

I hope you enjoyed my coutdown. I covered so many genres in my Top 10 lost which makes me so happy! So exicted to see what bookish things 2017 brings! ❤

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see liveupdates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Books of 2016!

Leave a Reply

