Uncategorized

The Ultimate Book Tag

So as I’m a fair way away from finishing my next book to review, I thought I’d do a quick book tag. I just found this one floating around on google and thought it looked pretty interesting!

I believe it was originally created by the Chapter Chicks.

Okay, let’go!

 

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Nope. Not all. I really love reading in the car. I usually end up napping though.

 

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I’d have to go with Jenny Colgan. She has done something special with the beach read contemporary that has not been equaled by any other adult contemporary author. I have never been so connected to characters. Her books are a perfect mix of happy smiley times and then those moments when your stomach drops into your socks.

 

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Is this seriously even a question?! I was never a massive fan of Twilight.

1. The best characters ever invented.

2. The best world ever created.

3. The best story ever told.

 

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

No, I either have a large-ish handbag. Or a rucksack for uni. I’m currently carrying around ‘For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow is Enuff’ by Ntozake Shange and ‘Margot and Me’ by Juno Dawson.

 

5. Do you smell your books?

Of course.

 

 6. Books with or without little
illustrations?

I prefer without, unless they are like chapter headings. The only exception would be in children’s fiction. Like in ‘Alice’ or ‘Oz’.

 

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)

I can’t really think of a specific example as I have memories of a child of always loving books but kind of fell out of it during secondary school. I’ve only been reading consistently since 2 Easters ago!

 

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

 

Not that I can think of right now! When I was a baby, I used to just sit and “read” books as I didn’t walk until I was nearly two!

 

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

‘Pink Mist’ by Owen Sheers

 

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

My Shakespeare Complete Works. It’s thicker than HP and the Order and the pages are like bible pages!

 

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I guess so? Someone once said to me “if you write, you’re a writer.” I’m currently working on a novel for my creative coursework but whether it’s any good is another matter.

 

12. When did you get into reading?

  • I was always “reading” when I was a toddler. (Which is funny cos my nephew really loves books too).
  • My Primary School kept me into reading.
  • In year 7 I joined a book club called “Chatterbooks” at my local library.
  • Eventually I stopped enjoying reading, after been forced to read books for secondary.
  • Fell back in love with reading 2 Easters ago!

 

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Other than  Shakespeare which is a pretty obvious choice for a Drama student, I’d probably say ‘Brave New World’ by Aldous Huxley. It has one of the most amazing plots. And is very relevant to today. The ending always has me sobbing.

 

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

We didn’t have language arts. I was “Gifted and Talented” in english and was invited to a weekly creative writing class which was a lot of fun. I actually wrote a fantasy short story for a book in that class. I’ll have to dig it out and see what my ideas were!

 

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Be grateful. I have a wardrobe in my room at my parent’s house that my brother’s girlfriend and mum have free access to and can take the books out for themselves and if I want the book I can just ask them for it so!

 

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Not really similar to HP or HG but I think the ‘Noughts and Crosses’ series by Malorie Blackman is massively underrated!

 

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

I guess this is a Youtube tag and I don’t do that sooo!

 

18. What is your favorite word?

I really like flump it’s fun to say. Haha. Flump.

 

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’d say nerd and dork. What even is a dweeb? Not that any of those things are bad, mind.

 

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies.

 

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with either of these in. But if you’re an angel..you’re dead, right? So with that in mind, I’d go with Shapeshifters. You could just turn yourself into an angel anyway?

 

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Have you met Remus Lupin?! *takes a moment.*

 

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Do I have to chose oneeeeee? I guess vampires.

 

 24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I’m usually not a fan of Love Triangles. But then the other day I realised my WIP HAS a love triangle so that’s put me into a mini existential crisis. To be fair, Jenny Han does love triangles well in her ‘To all The Boys’ series. Forbidden love is always an interesting take on things.

 

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Right now, Romance. I just need to read some happy things these days. Dystopians are too real.

 

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see liveupdates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

Leave a Reply

