Uncategorized

January Reading Wrap Up!

I have really started this year off with some cracking books! I read novels, non-fiction and plays…6 books in total which when I have dissertation to write, isn’t too at all! 

 

‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness (Illustrated Edition) 2012

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Middle Grade/Young Adult Contemporary/Magical Realism.
Publisher: Walker Books
Format: Paperback borrowed from a friend.

I really really loved this book. It was a pretty hard hitting start to my reading year. It’s the type of book that you sit and read in one or two sittings and just drink it up. I don’t think I’mm gonna see the film because I think reading the book is such a personal thing. The illustrations are amazing and really enhance the story.

Key Point: Read the illustrated version, I think it’s a much better way of experiencing the story.

 

‘A Quiet Kind of Thuder’ by Sarah Barnard 2017

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s
Format: Net Galley E-Arc

I completely fell in love with Steffi’s story. I have never read a book including deaf or mute characters before so this really opened not only my literary eyes but my real life ones too. It has so many amazing key themes like love, family, friendship, self-worth and self-acceptance. It tugs at the heart strings and will have you hooked from that first flick of the page.

Key Point: The most unique immersive relationship I have ever read.

 

‘Wing Jones’ by Katherine Webber 2017

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Walker Books
Format: Paperback bought with my own £££

If this book doesn’t make it onto my favourite books of 2017 I will be very shocked. It’s stunning in every way from the ombre pages, to the romance, to the family feels it gives you. I still can’t believe this is a debut novel. If you an older brother you will connect with this on such a level that this book will be really special to you, like it is for me. On Saturday I even got to meet Katherine! Me and my friend Kelly went to Cardiff to see her as part of a feminism in YA event. She was wonderful and lovely and it should make you wanna read the book even more!!! (Here is a pic I stole of her twitter of the three of us –  I look so genuinely happy haha!)

Key Point: The cover is just as beautiful as the writing inside.

20170201_223843[1].jpg

‘A Celebration’ by Harold Pinter 2000

Rating: ★★★☆☆
Genre: Adult Absurdist Drama.
Publisher: N/A As I….
Format: …read it off Drama Online

One of university texts for this semester.My first Pinter and it was okay. I think it works a lot better seen on stage/screen because there is SO much subtext. I’d like to read his other works as this is his final play, so it’s probably different to some of the others.

 

‘We Should All Be Feminists’ by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie 2014

Rating: ★★★★☆
Genre: Non-Fiction/Essay
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Format: Paperback bought with a Book Token I got for Christmas.

This should be required reading. It gives a great basic view of feminism, perfect for people who aren’t too familiar with the concept. It’s a quick inspiring read that sparked my interest and really got me thinking. If you have any kind of inclining to learn about Feminism and how important it is, pick this up!

Key Point: This book would make a really great gift as it’s so short it suits non-readers too!!

 

‘Pink Mist’ by Owen Sheers 2013

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Adult Drama/Poem
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Paperback bought my own £££ and I also listened to the Radio Play (Which is pretty much that whole text) through Box of Broadcasts.

As a student living in Bristol, where the play is set, I really connected with it. Hearing familiar places/names was a really nice touch. It tackles war in a sensitive way but it still packs a punch. It’s so REAL (it’s based on interviews) so be prepared for that!

Key Point: ‘Pink Mist’ is currently on tour, go see it if you can!

 

Hope you enjoyed my first ever wrap it! So excited for the amazing books I’m gonna read in February!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

Leave a Reply

