Uncategorized

Seventeen 2017 Book Releases That I’m Excited For!

2017 is going to be a massive year for releases across the board. Huge books are coming from all genres of the bookish world. Here is a list of 17 books I am excited for. It doesn’t contain all the books I’m excited for, just a selection. 

Take everything I’ve said with a pinch of salt, it can be hard, with upcoming releases to get all the information 100%. Most of my information has come from the respective publishers sites or Amazon. The books are in order of release and I’ve but info the best I can, the release dates are UK release dates and may change before publication. I hope you find something you’re excited for here too!

 

1. ‘Dramarama’ by E.Lockhart

Release date: 9th February (YEP TOMORROW!)
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary71mwocliehl-_ac_ul320_sr208320_
Publisher: Hot Key Books

This title was released in the USA in 2007. This novel follows a group of teens at a theatre summer camp so obviosuly as a drama student I am sooo excited to read this book. It seems like it is going to have a lot of well intergrated diversity and lots of mishaps and great moments. If it’s anythinglike theatre groups I have been in, ther
e will be strops, egos and a lot of group love!

Key point: This is our  Book Club book of the month for February so look out for all our reviews soon!

 

 

2. ‘The Summer Seaside Kitchen’ by Jenny Colgan

Release date: 9th February (YEP TOMORROW!)
Genre: Adult Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Sphere

So I know this one comes out tomorrow too but Colgan is one of my favourite authors, so it’s okay, right? Jenny’s books are perfect in every way and have followed cafes. bakeries and bookshops. This one seems slightly different to the books I’ve previously read of hers. Flora goes back home in Scotland from the big city and moves back in with her brothers and father before finding a love for cooking. I’m looking forward to the bigger emphasis on family in this one.

Key point: I might actually save this book for when I go on holiday in the summer because Colgan’s books are without a doubt the most perfect beach reeds ever!

 

 

3. ‘The Lonely Hearts Hotel’ by Heather O’Neill 

Release date: 23rd February
Genre: Adult Literary Fiction
Publisher: Riverrun

This novel is set in the roaring 20s and follows two orphan who were brought together by fate. They both have dreams around a glamorous life on the stage. From what I can tell it has an adult vibe similar to ‘The Night Circus’ or ‘Caraval’ but it’s definitely not for younger readers!

Key point: This book is on my TBR and I have an E-Arc copy so my review will be up soon!

 

 

4. ‘Dead Letters’ by Caite Dolan-Leach

Release date: 21st February
Genre: Adult Mystery
Publisher: Random House

This book tells the story of twin sisters where one dies and leads the other on a scavenger hunt to find the truth. I have never read a mystery before so I’m super excited to dive into this one. It sounds so invigorating and action packed.

Key point: It’s been described as a “deadly cat and mouse” and that just sounds epic.

 

 

5. ‘The Accusation’ by Bandi (Transalted by Deborah Smith30358510)

Release date: 2nd March
Genre: Short Story Anthology
Publisher: Serpent’s Tail

This manuscript was smuggled out of North Korea and is being published to bring light to what life i
s currently like in North Korea. most books concerning the country have been memoirs from defectors. Bandi, is of course a pseudonym and they tell stories of real people in real situations.

Key point: All the stories are different and concern people like mothers to children and actors and beyond.

 

 

6. ‘Queens of Geek’ by Jen Wilde

Release date: 1st April
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary/LGBTQ+
Publisher: Swoon Reads

The synopsis of this just sounds so good. It features a famous actress, a break up and a girl being forced to break out of her shell. Again it seems like it’s going to have well integrated diversity and I love how current and relevant it will be, the main character being a vlogger.

Key point: This novel seems to be a lot about self-worth, which is good, we need more self-love in books at the moment.

 

 

7. ‘The Hate U Give’ by Angie Thomas

Release date: 6th April
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Walker Books

This book has had so much hype, which i think we be for all good reason. It was written as a response to the Black lives matter Movement and it’s all about justice as the main character sees her best friend shot. He was unarmed. The film rights to this book have already been bought, so this one is gonna be big!

Key point: John Green described this book as “special”. I’m really looking forward to it!

 

 

8. ‘Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #3)’ by Jenny Han

Release date: 6th April
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Scholastic

I absolutely adore these books and I cannot wait to see the end of Lara Jean’s story. Lara Jean is now a senior in high school. She is facing the same issues her big sister Margot faced whilst dealing with the normal (and I expect, boy) drama. I love the emphasis on family in these books, it’s something really really special.

Key point: ‘To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Book One was in my Top 10 Books of 2016!

 

 

9. ‘Ice Cream for Breakfast: How rediscovering your inner child can make you calmer, happier,
and solve your bulls*t adult problems’ by Laura51ro5km5nel-_sx310_bo1204203200_ Jane Williams

Release date: 20th April
Genre: Self-Help
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

The premise of this book just really intrigues me. I love the idea of embracing your child-like side to improve your life. Especially as I’m graduating university this year and am about to become and “adult” I’m looking forward to seeing what this book offers me.

Key point: This is my favourite cover of all the books on this list. I mean…look at it! 

 

 

10. ‘New Boy’ by Tracy Chevalier

Release date: 11th May
Genre: Historical Fiction/Shakespeare Retelling
Publisher: Hogarth

This book is part of the Hogarth Shakespeare group and is a retelling of the tragedy, ‘Othello’. It’s set in a school in 1970’s Washington and focuses a lot on one of the main themes of the original play
, betrayal. I’m a huge Shakespeare fan and Margaret Attwood’s ‘Hagseed’ – A ‘The Tempest’ retelling was on my Top 10 of 2016.

Key point: This book is only 192 pages. So I’m really looking forward to seeing how ‘Othello’ is condensed and contextualised here.

 

 

11. ‘Literally’ by Lucy Keating

Release date: 18th May
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Harper Collins

This book is the meta and that really really excites me. The main protagonist, Annabelle, finds that she is the main protagonist of Lucy’s new novel?! How amazing does that sound? I love self-aware books so I’m really looking forward to this one.

Key point: The tagline of this book is “a book about a book about falling in love.” A book in a book…I am hooked!

 

 

12. ‘When Dimple Met Rishi’ by Sandhya Menon

Release date: 30th may
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Simon Pulse

This is another one that has had a particularly big amount of hype. it surrounds to Indian-American teens who are set to go through an arranged marriage. The two main characters appear to be complete opposites so this is probably gonna be super funny and lovely to read.

Key point: This book looks like it’s gonna put a huge emphasis on family, which I am all for.

 

 

13. ‘The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue’ by Mackenzie Lee

Release d51fgasdwoll-_sx329_bo1204203200_ate: 1st July
Genre: Young Adult Historical Fiction/Romance/LGBTQ+
Publisher: HarperCollins

This is an 18th Century Romantic Adventure and it just sounds like it’s going to be sooo much fun. Monty and Percy, two best friend who may or may not be crushing on each other go on a Grand Tour of Europe and…well…it goes wrong. I cannot wait for this one!

Key point: This is a long one at 528 pages!

 

 

14. ‘How to Stop Time’ by Matt Haig

Release date: 6th July
Genre: Adult Literary Fiction/Magical Realism(?)/Fantasy(?)
Publisher: Canongate Books

The main character was born in 1581. He’s is 41. He time travels and the one rule is…he can’t fall in love. Need I say more?!

Key point: Shakespeare is mentioned in the synopsis, so obviously, I’m there.

 

 

15. ‘All The Ways The World Can End’ by Abigail Sher

Release date: 11th July
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Macmillan Childrens

Lenny is obsessed with theories surrounding the apocalypse (and so am I, honestly). She’s also obsessed with her dad’s oncologist, who does not reciprocate her feelings. as her life is kind of all over the place, I’m sure this books is gonna be about finding yourself and I’m excited.

Key point: The synopsis hints at a love interest so this is gonna have allll the romance but when and where, who knows?

 

 

16. ‘Freshers’ by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

Release date: 7th August
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Chicken House Books

There isn’t much announced for this book at this point other than it being about becoming a fresher at uni and that really excites me.

Key point: The two authors met at sixth-form and are still friends to this day, which is kind of adorable.

 

 

17. ‘Godsgrave (Nevernight #2)’ 

Release date: 24th August
Genre: Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Harper Voyager

I loved ‘Nevernight’ it was one of my Top 10 books of 2016 and is my favourite fantasy ever. I cannot wait to see where this world and story goes.

Key point: As this doesn’t come out until August there is barely any information available for it. If book one is anything to go by, this is gonna be a huge series and I’m so happy to have caught it at the beginning.

 

So there is my list! I hope you found something you like the look of. I cannot wait to get started on some of these! Comment and let me know what books you are most excited for.

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see liveupdates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Seventeen 2017 Book Releases That I’m Excited For!

Leave a Reply

