Tag

Tag Thursday: The Harry Potter Spells Tag

I decided, Thursdays atm are my most free evenings, I would do a tag thursday! I found this one in the abyss of google here. It seems really cute and fu…and I’m a huge potter head so why not?!

 

☆Flagrate – Writing Charm☆ A book you found interesting but would like to rewrite.

Okay, so let’s assume for a second that I am qualified to rewrite someone else’s work, which I am not but I would choose ‘The Shock of the Fall’ by Nathan Filer. On the whole I did really enjoy this book, I just think it was missing a few tricks. I didn’t like the overall message it gave about mental health and the treatment you could receive. Also it lacked diversity. If it had these elements added in, I probably would have given it 5 stars.

 

☆Alohamora – Unlocking Charm☆ A first book in a series that got you hooked.

For this I had to choose ‘The Little Beach Street Bakery’ by Jenny Colgan. If you pick this series up on a beach, you will not be able to put it down. It’s wonderful in every way. I love all the characters and it has the perfect mix of cheesy happiness and tense drama, leaving you wanting more and running to the bookstore to buy the sequel.

 

☆Accio – Summoning Charm☆ A book you wish you could have right now. 

You can view my most anticipated 2017 releases here. Out of all of those, the one I cannot get out of my mind is ‘The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue’ by Mackenzie Lee. An 18th century LGBTQ+ romantic adventure? Yes please!

 

☆Avada Kedavra – Killing Curse☆ A killer book.

This on is so easy and it has to go to ‘Nevernight’ by Jay Kristoff. It’s a killer book not only because of all the death (trust me, this isn’t a spoiler) but also because it has a badass female MC and a shadow cat called Mr Kindly.

 

☆Confundo – Confusion Charm☆ A book you found confusing. 

I’m seeing this book in whole new light recently in regards to representation of chronic illnesses. This book is ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon. A lot of the characters actions just don’t really make any sense and they’re really unrealistic. It’s pretty disappointing. (Also, don’t watch the trailer for the film if you’re planning on watching it, it gives away everything).

 

☆Expecto Patronum – Patronus Charm☆ Your spirit animal book.

I love sausage dogs and I’m 99.9% sure that my patronus would be one, so, with that in mind this has to go to ‘Walking with Sausage Dogs’ by Matt Whyman. This book is about welcoming a new sausage to the family. It’s non-fiction. It is wonderful!

 

☆Sectumsempra – Dark Curse☆ A dark and twisted book.

When I read this it was so beautifully twisted and dark. This goes to ‘The Tragedie of Macbeth – The Graphic Novel’ by Stewart Moore (and Shakespeare…obviously). The art style is black and white and looks a lot at Macbeth’s mental state. it’s apologetically gruesome and twisted in that sense. A great take on the story.

 

☆Expelliarmus – Disarming Spell☆ A book that took you by surprise. 

A bit of a controversial book for you here but I had to go with ‘Lolita’ by Vladimir Nabokov. I was surprised by how beautifully written this book was. It’s about a horrible theme and everyone knows that but underneath lies some beautiful writing that left me addicted to the book. It’s one of those books you just have to read at some point in your life.

 

☆Prior Incantato – Reverse Spell☆ The last book you read.

I recently read ‘Black Watch’ by Gregory Burke which is a play and I loved it! It’s for on of my uni classes and focuses on a specific army group in Scotland. I terms of actual books I read ‘Margot and Me’ by Juno Dawson which…weirdly enough also deals with war! It’s a super good book.

 

☆Riddikulus – Boggart Banishing Spell☆ A funny book you have read. 

When I read this book I was giggling the whole way through! That books is ‘Glitter Kiss: A Graphic Novel’ by Adrianna Ambrose. A girl develops a magic kiss that turns all the boys he kisses into girls. She causes havoc in her school and has a wail of a time doing it. It’s silly, it’s girly and really, really funny.

 

☆Sonorus – Voice Amplifying Spell☆ A book you think everyone should know about.

For this I just had to pick my favourite classic which is ‘Brave New World’ by Aldous Huxley. Given today’s current climate this book is still relevant today and always will be. It makes me smile and makes me weep. It’s a wonderful read with such an important message.

 

☆Obliviate – Memory Erasing Charm☆ A spoiler you regret reading. 

For some reason, when I bought ‘The Lovely Bones’ by Alice Seobald I turned the back page and read it. I have no idea why. Now I have no need to read the book. Silly me!

 

☆Imperio – Controlling ☆ A book you had to read for school.

I was forced to read a few books for school but one that sticks out for me is ‘Of Mice and Men’ by John Steinbeck. I actually really enjoyed it and it definitely stuck in m my memory. Hmm. I should reread it soon!

 

☆Crucio – Pain Charm☆ A book that was painful to read.

I really do not understand the hype around ‘City of Bones’ by Cassandra Clare. I just could not get through it. It just seemed like a carbon copy of Potter to me? Boo.

 

This was such a fun tag to do! I’d love to hear some of your answers too.

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tag Thursday: The Harry Potter Spells Tag

  1. I considered to pick up Everything, Everything at one point, but decided to postpone it due to the budget, and your post made me not regret it 🙂 . I know there are lots of praises for the book, but I need a justification for now XD

    Yes, I plan to read Nabokov’s Lolita in the near future, and I can’t wait to dive into its controversial beauty!

    Great tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

