Tag · Uncategorized

Top 10 Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

This weeks Top 10 Tuesday’s (hosted by Brokeandbookish) topic is books I liked more/less than  thought I would and I thought I would do five of each!

5 Books I Liked More Than I Thought I Would:

 

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

From the synopsis, I thought I’d like this book but I actually became low key obsessed with it. I don’t read a lot of fantasy and this is b far the best fantasy book I have ever read. It has everything from death and violence to a bad ass female protag with a shadow cat called Mr Kindly. I was lucky enough to get sent a copy by my favourite bookish person ever, Kelly and I am forever grateful to her! We are both super excite for the upcoming release of the sequel, Godsgrave this summer!

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

This was my first ever Picoult and it became my favourite book of 2016. It is so incredibly written and is completely enthralling. It tells a story of racial prejudices that will have you questioning your beliefs and what’ going to happen right to the last page. I also thought Picoult’s work was mushy adult contemporary…boy, was I wrong! I need more!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusack

I was weary of this book because it’s told from the perspective of death and I wasn’t sure if I was up for that. This book is absolutely incredible. I have happy memories of reading it on long bus journeys home from uni in the writer and feeling so immersed in the story. It’s quite a long book but it didn’t take me long to read at all. Definitely one to pick up!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Script by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne and J.K Rowling

Okay, so this one has been bashed my haters ad fans of the series alike so I was slightly worried going into to it but oh my GOSH it was amazing. Do I think it’s perfect? No. Do I mind? No. It gave me so much nostalgia. I have never actually read a Harry Potter book on release, preferring the audiobooks so this was such a special experience for me and I read t the second it came out when I was on holiday in my favourite place. So much love for it.

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

I was not expecting to be so into this book. Yes the content is disgusting and vile and wrong on all the levels but the writing…the writing is SO poetic and enticing. It reads like a well thought out love poem until you remember what it actually is and you squirm. I simply cannot deny the fact that I enjoyed this book.

 

5 Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would:

 

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I had high hopes for this book going into it. I thought it had a really intriguing synopsis and I was looking forward to jumping into a genre I’d never really read before. However…it was so dull. I lost interest and just pushed myself to the end and felt now satisfaction at all. I was really disappointing.

City of Bones by Casandra Clare

Please don’t hate me but I really hated this book. SO many tropes that I just had to DNF it. It to me just felt like a copy of Harry Potter and with it being such a huge series with several companions, I decided to quit whilst I was ahead.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger

This is one of those books where everyone is like “you have to read this! It’s a classic! You’ll love it!” and I just…didn’t. I had a lot of high hopes because a lot of YA has said to have been inspired by it but it was just so dull to me. I can appreciate it, I just didn’t love it.

The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher

I was home from uni for Christmas and I was so excited for all my festive reads. This e had so many issues I can’t even write them all here…you can read my review (/rant) here.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll 

I genuinely thought I would love this book and I’m so sad that I just don’t! It was so off the wall and the description was poor and I wanted more focus on some of the key elements. I really love the Disney Film so I thought I would love it but for some reason, I just didn’t click with it.

 

This was a really interesting topic and I would love to hear your thoughts!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. I really liked HP and the Cursed Child for the same reason! I admit that it has its problems and that I don’t agree with half of the plot (or even how they wrote the characters) but it kept me so happy while reading that I don’t really care (I mean, I do care, because it’s HP and it could be better, but I still enjoyed it). But sometimes, the way some people say they hate that book makes me kinda uncomfortable about liking it :/
    I wasn’t expecting much for Red Queen and maybe that’s why I enjoyed it – the first chapters were slow and boring, but I found myself liking the second half of the book. I’m not sure if I liked it enough to go on with the series, tho haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

