Wrap Up

February Reading Wrap Up!

So in February i read 8 books…8! Granted one is a 12 page performance text but that’s what comes with being a Drama Student.

 

 

Hamletmachine by Heiner Müller 1977

Rating: ★★
Genre: Avant Garde (is that even a genre? If not, I’ll just be Avant Garde and MAKE it a genre)
Publisher: N/A
Format: Provided by university lecturer.

So…avant garde. As a performance I bet this is stunning. As a playtext…distinctly underwhelming. However, lots of Shakespeare references.

Key Point: It also has a few feminist tones to it, which I enjoyed.

 

Topdog/Underdog by Susan-Lori Parks 2001

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Contemporary American Drama
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Format: Borrowed from university library.

This play is the ultimate sibling rilvarly tale. Lincoln and Booth are stuck in a bit of a rut and the play tells the story of the two boys, abandoned by their parents, trying to cope with living in a society that for the msot part, doesn’t care to hear their voice. A modern day tragedy with a historical twist. Worth the read, I think. if you can get past the colloquial speech.

Key Point: This play was part of the rising of African American theater – so its worth the read for that fact alone.

 

Margot and Me by Juno Dawson 

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporay/Historical Fiction
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Sent to The Bookclub by the publisher.

This was The Bookclub pick for January and I finished it just before our book chat at the beginning of February. This book is sweet, enthralling, heart breaking and so addictive. It’s split between two perspectives, Fliss and her Grandmother’s secret diary that she wrote during the blitz. It’s a stunning book and story where everyone I’ve spoke to was practically  hugging the book when they’ve finished it.

Key Point: This book has really well integrated diversity, which I loved.

 

Black Watch by Gregory Burke 2006

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Contemporary British Drama
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Borrowed from university library.

This play has landed itself in my favourite plays of all time. I absoultely adored readin it that I found the radio play online and lsitened to that, which has the orignal composed music with it. It twells the story of the Black Watch regiment in Scotland and one of their tours of Iraq at the birth of modern warfare. It’s a wonderful play and when we watched the film version in class, my mind was blown.

Key Point: The original director is the director of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in london so…there’s that.

 

Afterwards by Clare Hennessy 2005/2017

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Irish Fiction
Publisher: **This title is currently awaiting E-publication from Mulcahy Books in April!**
Format: Sent from author.

This is part of Clare’s back-list and is currently awaiting electronic publication. It tells the story of Claudia when her mother can no longer cope with family life and leaves. It was a really realistic portrayal of a teen going through a tough time. She explodes at her friends and it was so accurate i almost felt nostalgic. It’s heart wrenching and really engaging. It’s quite short as well so everything feels quite frantic and desperate, especially toward the end which worked really, really well.

Key Point: This is a little hidden gem of a book.

 

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett 1911

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Children’s Classic
Publisher: Penguin Vintage Classics
Format: My own paperback copy.

This is part of my Mum’s Must Reads challenge as tis is one one of her fav ever books! I actually got lot more out of it than I thought. It tells the story of Mary Lennox, an orphan who discovers more than she ever thought she would in ehr new home. It has great themes and has a great message to children that they just have to have a bit of self belief and everything is possible.

Key Point: This month I am reading Sense and Sensibility for the challenge!

 

Orlando by Virginia Woolf 1928

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Classic
Publisher: N/A
Format: Self-bought kindle edition.

I read this for university and I really enjoyed it. it was funny, it was beautifully written and I really enjoyed the references to literature through time. There are so many interpretation of what this book is really about but for me its about finding happiness in yourself and what you love doing, whatever your gender or who you are.  I’m looking forward to creating a performance with the film adaptation of this book as a stimulus!

Key Point: I will definitely pick up more Woolf in the future.

Dramarama by E.Lockhart 2005/2017

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Sent to The Bookclub from the publisher.

This was The Bookclub BOTM for February and it had so much potential and for me it just fell a little flat. It’s packed with musical theatre references and the relationships are light and the author perfectly captures what it’s like to be at a drama summer school. However, the ending falls flat and I don’t agree with a few of the overall messages of the book.

Key Point: But seriously, I really appreciated the Wicked references.

 

So…there you have it, the eight things I read in February. I read quite a wide range of literature though which is good! Three plays, two classics and three young adult novels. What did you read in February? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Let me know!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

2 thoughts on “February Reading Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

