Discussion

Ten of my Favourite Fictional Ladies! #InternationalWomensDay

So in honour on International Womens Day, I thought I would list 10 of my fave fictional ladies! They are in no particular order and are from a wide range of genres, so let’s get into it! 

 

1. Polly Waterford – The Little Beach Street Bakery Series by Jenny Colgan

Easily of my all time favourite series, Polly is the perfect example of what it means to follow your dreams. She gives up a lot to up sticks and move to her favourite seaside town, where she opens a bakery. I think we all have that kind of dream where we love to leave an office job behind for a better life by the sea. Mine would personally be to open a book cafe at the seafront at Broadhaven, South West Wales. Polly actually achieves that dream, with little help at that and it’s truly empowering and inspiring.

2. Mia Covere –  The Nevernight Series by Jay Kristoff

Mia is one of the most bad ass literary ladies I have ever read. She is completely fearless and never apologizes for who she is. She’s one of the best fighters and is one of the most incredible characters. She’s not had the easiest upbringing but she doesn’t let it hold her back. She Puts her all into her studies to become the best she can be and I can’t wait to see where her story goes next.

3. Rosalind – As You Like It by William Shakespeare

Rosalind is one of Shakespeare’s most recognized heroines. She is intelligent and loyal. She spends her time, after leaving her family, flipping over gender roles. She dresses as a guy called Ganymede, does whatever she can to helps her friends and stops at nothing to get what she needs.

4. Liz Hall – Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

I couldn’t miss out the character from my all time fav book, could I? When Liz finds herself in a weird and wonderful version of the after life, she stops getting dressed, snaps at her Grandma and loses interest in everything. She pretty much falls into Depression. Throughout the book though, she doesn’t let this stop her. She chases her dream job and eventually finds new friends and a relationship. For me, she represents resilience and determination. Showing there is such a thing as too much o a good thing, but you can do what you want, even if you feel like you can’t go on anymore.

5. Persephone ‘Sephy’ Hadley – The Noughts and Crosses Series by Malorie Blackman

Without spoiling you, Sephy faces SO many terrible things. She is an absolutely incredible woman with the resilience I could only dream of. She only ever does what she thinks s best for her and her family, without really sparing a though for the consequences because there could be nothing worse than letting herself, or her family down. A great lady in a great series.

6. Molly Weasley – The Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

Molly, for me, represents a great mother. The fact that her biggest fear i her family getting hurt and she treats Harry is if he were her own is enough evidence of this. Hs eis a super powerful witch who has devoted her life to other people. A truly inspirational, woman.

7. Elphaba – The Wicked Series by Gregory Maguire (and the musical)

Elpheba is different and she does nothing but embraces it. She’s a wonderful woman who never lets any one get in her way. Throughout her story, she teaches us to love yourself, love your family and love your friends. Also those songs though.

8. Hermione – The Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

I think all of us bookish lovelies can relate to being mocked an ridiculed for reading so much. Hermione never lets this gets to her and actually goes on to prove that it’s a really useful quality to have (especially if you happen to memorize a Hogwarts text book or two). She makes me unashamed to be myself and I will be forever thankful to her.

9. Wing Jones – Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

Wing is such a geat character. She has a great love for her fmaily and throughout the book, devleops a love for herself. Self love is so important and even when she goes through a really difficult situation, she learns to take cre of number one. She followsher dreams and comes out straonger than she could have imagined.

10.Rapunzel – From Disney’s Film

I absolutely adore Disney’s Rapunzel. She’s witty, loyal, caring, kind, thoughtful and resourceful. She ever lets go of her dream and stops at nothing to achieve it. She overcomes adversity and is always the bigger person.

 

I hope you enjoyed my list of some of my fav fictional ladies! Let me know some of yours down below!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

13 thoughts on “Ten of my Favourite Fictional Ladies! #InternationalWomensDay

  1. Mine would be Hermione as well, plus Luna Lovegood (I LOVE HER), Winter from TLC, Primrose and Effie from THG, Queenie from Fantastic Beasts, and Olivier Mira Armstrong and Riza Hawkeye from Fullmetal Alchemist franchise!

    Like

  2. I read the first book of the wicked series (I didn’t even know it was a series at the time) last year but I didn’t like it very much :/ I didn’t know there was a musical!!
    great list!! mine would include molly and hermione as well, luna too, and isabelle lightwood from the mortal instruments, queenie from fantastic beasts, annabeth, reyna, hazel and piper from percy jackson / the heroes of olympus … and I’m sure there are more characters I want to name, I just can’t remember now 😛

    Like

  3. Many of my favorite fictional characters happen to be from musicals, but love book characters as well. Have to agree have Hermonine. Love Elphaba and I have gotten to know her through the musical. There are so many female musical characters that I have fallen in love with

    Like

      1. Yes, I have seen Wicked and Elphaba is my favorite musical character. In total, I have seen the musical four times. Back in 2006 I was 12 and my mom took me to New York to see Wicked on Broadway and little did I know the impact that the musical would have on my life. Wicked sparked my love for musicals in so many ways. That musical was how I began to understand the more emotional and complex side of musicals.

        Like

      2. My favorite characters in Wicked are Elphaba, Fiyero, and Glinda. Those three create the most complex love triangle I have ever seen in musicals.

        They are the characters I spend the most time with each time I see the musical. Each time I see it, I still feel like a 12 year old even though each time my emotional level deepens and I feel more vulnerable.

        Like

Leave a Reply

