Tag · Uncategorized

The Pick ‘n’ Mix Book Tag!

First of all, let me apologise for the absence on the blog recently. Third year suddenly kicked in with a vengeance! I wasn’t tagged in this post by anyone but I saw it on The Book Life and I just had to give it a go! It’s super fun and has some pretty challenging questions so lets get into it!…

1. Fizzy Blue Bottles.

They look strange, and they taste strange, but you like them. Name a book or series with a really strange plot that you couldn’t help but love.

I really struggled with this question because I don’t think I’ve read any books with particularly strange plots. Cell 7 by Kerry Drewery has a really unique concept though. You follow a reality TV show and the perspective of a girl on death row in a dystopian society and it is wonderful.

2. The Metre.

It goes on forever. Name the longest book series you have read.

If you count all the companion books as well, I would have to say the mighty Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling!

3. Chocolate Raisins.

No amount of chocolate can hide what’s inside. Name a book with a great cover but a disappointing story.

I actually really like chocolate raisins haha! I really like the cover for Dare Me by Megan Abott but the story is distinctly meh.

4. Chocolate Mice.

They look sweet, but they’re secretly vermin. Name a book that surprised you with it’s villain. (Be careful not to give spoilers!)

Cursed Child shocked me to the core but I wont say why because spoilers!

5. Hard Gums.

You take a bite but almost break your teeth. What book or series was hard for you to get into?

I tried with this series, I really did. I was so hyped for it fro all the praise it gets and I was s ready to dive in, however, I just could not get into City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I just couldn’t do it. it had me cringing at every page and I couldn’t get past the Potter parallels.

6. Cola Bottles.

Some are sweet, some are sour. Name two similar books, one you liked and one you didn’t.

A lot of people say that The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky was greatly inspired by The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger. I loved Perks but didn’t enjoy the latter! Maybe I’ll reread at some point. I just remember hating the narration.

7. Fried Eggs.

Some love them, some hate them. Name a book that matches the way you feel about Fried Eggs.

I love them so I will pick Understudy by David Nicholls. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on my blog before but it is one of my all time faves!

8. Smarties.

No matter what you do, they’re everywhere. Name a trend or trope you are tired of reading.

I really don’t like it when I read books that seems like there’s diversity in it for sake of it. I would love to see more authentic diversity.

 9. Gummy Bears.

Name your favourite fictional creature or animal.

Apart from Harry Potter where there are just too many creatures that have a special place i my heart, I have to go with Mr Kindly the Shadowcat from Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. He is sassy, witty and loyal. I love him!

 9. Pick ‘n’ Mix! 

So many sweets, so much variety. Name some of your favourite diverse books!

  • The Noughts and Crosses Series by Malorie Blackman
  • Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult
  • Wing Jones by Katherine Webber
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
  • The Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman
  • In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park
  • A Very Distant Shore by Jenny Colgan
  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

 

This tag was a lot of fun! I tag:

 

3 thoughts on “The Pick ‘n’ Mix Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

