Wrap Up

March Reading Wrap Up!

This month I read 11 books! I have no idea how. Actually, 6 of them were plays so that’s probably why. I also only read one YA book, so that makes for an interesting wrap up! Let’s get into it…

 

Mountain Language by Harold Pinter (1988)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Absurdist Drama
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Borrowed from university library.

My brains been all over the place this month. I don’t really remember anything about this. I read it for an essay but didn’t use it in the end.

Key Point: Probably not the best Pinter to start with if you’ve never read him before.

Jerusalem by Jez Butterworth (2009)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Contemporary drama.
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Borrowed from university library.

This tells the story of Johnny ‘Rooster’ Byron who is set to be evicted from his trailer by the council. It’s full of moral ambiguity and seems like it would be a great performance.

Key Point: I read this, again, for an essay and ended up using this one. I really liked how many nods to Shakespeare there are in it!

The Caretaker by Harold Pinter (1963)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Absurdist Drama
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Borrowed from university library.

This wasn’t really for me. I found the dialogue quite hard to follow and the narrative didn’t really interest me.

Key Point: Read for the SAME essay and again, didn’t use it.

A Very Distant Shore by Jenny Colgan (2017)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Adult contemporary.
Publisher: Sphere.
Format: Bought my own copy.

I LOVED this, Jenny Colgan can do no wrong. It was a one-sitting read and is the perfect little story. With a refugee MC it’s really topical and it’s perfect if you have a train/coach to catch.

Key Point: Part of the £1 quick reads range, so there’s no excuse really!

Bitch Lit by Maya Chowdhry and Mary Sharatt (2006)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Adult short story anthology.
Publisher: Crocus.
Format: Bought my own copy from a charity shop.

This was weird. Really weird. It had much potential! Advertised as a feminist short story anthology, I read it for International Women’s Day. Some stories were good but most of them were disturbing and problematic.

Key Point: It just wasn’t as good as the blurb made it out to be.

Moonlight by Harold Pinter (2003)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Absurdist genre.
Publisher: N/A
Format: Read via audio on BoB.

Honestly, this one just blurred into all the other Pinter plays.

Key Point: Again, read for the essay and not used! (Can you tell how much trouble I had with it).

Poetics by Aristotle (335 BCE – well – ish)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Literary theory/philosophy.
Publisher: N/A
Format: Read online.

This was…well it’s the Poetics isn’t it? It is what it is! I enjoyed it more than I thought I would to be hones! I read it for THAT essay hahaha.

Key Point: What I liked about it is how relevant it still is today.

Ashes to Ashes by Harold Pinter (1996)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Absurdist drama.
Publisher: N/A
Format: Read online and listened to it via BoB.

This was by far the Pinter I preferred the most. It centres around trauma so it’s not for the faint hearted. It’s pretty shocking but a really interesting read.

Key Point: FINALLY a Pinter play I chose to use.

Now Or Later by Christopher Shinn (2008)

Rating: ★
Genre: American Contemporary Drama
Publisher: N/A (I didn’t write it down haha)
Format: Borrowed from university library.

This was pretty dull. It could have been because I was in full on essay mode when I read this but it just wasn’t for me. I’m sure some others will love it!

Key Point: Eddie Redmayne was in the original performance…sooo…there’s that. ❤

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Schamander (…J.K Rowling) (2017)

Rating: 
Genre: Magical non-fiction.
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Format: Audiobook via audible.

This was everything I hoped it would be. It’s perfect in every way. It’s so cleverly written that if you let you mind wander, you believe the wizarding world actually exists. Eddie Redmayne’s narration was absolutely perfect. He IS Newt like, he just is. It was pure and simple joy.

Key Point: This is a new edition and has a few new creatures, so it’s worth the investment!

The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson (2014)

Rating: 
Genre: Christian YA fairytale retelling.
Publisher: Zondervan.
Format: Audiobook via audible.

I just love anything Melanie Dickerson writes. I have nothing to say other than that.

Key Point: I’m CR the next one in the series and it’s a Rapunzel retelling and she is my fav!

 

So…there you have it, the eleven things I read in March. Now uni is coming to an end, I’m looking forward to diving in to exactly what I want to read (and tackle my ridiculous TBR list of books I need to review!) What did you read in March? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Let me know!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

