Tag

Tag Thursday: The Classics Book Tag!

I was tagged by my lovely bookish buddy Liliana to do the Classics Book Tag! Particularly  when you blog a lot about YA, classics are overlooked. So let’s get into it!…

 

1. An over-hyped classic you really didn’t like:

I think The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger is massively over-hyped. It’s not a particularly bad book, I just don’t think it’s as good as people make it out to be. The writing just wasn’t my thing.

2. Favourite time period to read about?:

I thought about this for a while but I genuinely don’t have a preference!

3. Favourite fairytale?:

Oh that is Rapunzel, without a doubt! Book version, Disney version, retelling…any form, I love it!

4. What is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read?:

Probably anything by the Brontës! Oops!

5. Top 5 classics you want to read:

  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë.
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë.
  • 1984 by George Orwell.
  • Metamorphoses by Ovid.
  • Sense and Sensibility (CR) by Jane Austen

6. Favourite modern book/series based on a classic?:

I am obsessed with Melanie Dickerson’s Hagenheim fairytale retelling series!  I love all the stories and its a companion series so all the characters interact and it’s just the best thing.

7. Favourite move version tv series based on a classic?:

I really like the film of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. I think the casting is just perfect.

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation?:

I can’t think of one! I’m more of a read the book first kind of gir
l so my knowledge on classic adaptations is quite slim.

9. Favourite editions you’d like to collect more of?:

I absolutely love the Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions. You can see my copy of Sense and Sensibility here and the photo doesn’t even do it justice.15284152_10153898485350653_1734370944237276383_n.jpg

10. An underhyped classic?:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley is one of the most amazing books, not just classic, out there. I don’t really hear that much about it but it’s so poignant and important, especially now in 2017.

This was a super fun tag! I tag all my bookclub girls to do this! If you want to do it too, just say I tagged you and go for it.

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

6 thoughts on “Tag Thursday: The Classics Book Tag!

  1. Irony fact: while Brave New World is not much appreciated by international audience, in Russia, it’s one of those very popular world classics 😀
    Awesome answers, I had lots of fun reading them ^__^

    Like

Leave a Reply

