Haul

April Book Haul!

So this month I thought I would give doing a book haul a go! I don’t think I will do one every month, but I came across some great finds this month! Some were gifts, some I bought and some are stellar charity shops finds! Let’s get into it…

The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas (2017 Walker Books):
This is the only book this month that I bought full price (cheeky!). I went on the day the book was out to go and pick up my copy and a few days later I had finished it. I was lucky enough to meet Angie twice! Once in Bristol where she signed my 20170430_154006[1].jpgbook and again in London. I absolutely love this book and I think everyone should read it. If you need any more convincing, you can read my review here. 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Screenplay) by J.K Rowling (2016 Little Brown):
I have been having a stressful time at the moment with university coming to an end. When I went home for Easter, mum had bought me a couple of gifts. One of them was the Fantastic Beasts screenplay which is so much fun to read and it is SO beautiful!

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr ARC (2017 Penguin): I went to the Angie Thomas event in London with my bookish bestie, Kelly and she was super kind and took me to the Oxfam Bookshop on Bloomsbury Street. This is one of the gems I picked up, purely because Kelly loves it so much!

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides (2002 Bloomsbury): Also at Oxfam I found my favourite editing of The Virgin Suicides. I’ve wanted to read this for ages but I was waiting to get his edition. I’m hoping to just devote a day to read this in one sitting when my dissertation is handed in.

A Practical Guide to Working in Theatre by Gill Foreman (2009 Methuen Drama): This
is the final book I got in the Oxfam shop in London. I saw it in the non-fiction section and picked it u20170430_153914[1]p on a whim. I’ve already read it and I really enjoyed it! I can tell I will keep it for reference for a long time.

Stolen: A Letter to my Captor by Lucy Christopher (2009 Chicken House): When I first fell back in love with reading two years ago, I saw this book on booktube and knew I wanted it. I completely forgot about it until I saw it at my local Oxfam shop at home! For 59p I really couldn’t pass it up!

My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout (2016 Random
House): 
This book and the next one were a gift from my lovely boyfriend when I felt down the other day. I’ve never heard of either of them but this one sounds so good! I’m going to pick it up soon.

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue (2016 Picador): He also got me The Wonder which kind of has a mystery/thriller vibe about it! I’ve barely read any books of that genre so I’m really looking forward to getting this book read.

Shakespeare: The World As A Stage (Hardcover Gift Edition) by Bill Bryson (Harper Press 2009): I picked this and the next four books up from my local Oxfam shop in Bristol. (Lots of Oxfam love this month!) As I am about to finish university, I am keen to keep 20170430_154111[1]up my non-fiction reading. I LOVED learning about Shakespeare as I have always loved him so this is one of three non-fiction Shakespeare books. I’ve wanted to read Bryson for ages so I’m excited to pick this up….(maybe once my dissertation is in – my brain needs a break!).

The Shakespeare Treasury by Catherine Alexander (Andre Deutsch Ltd 2016): This is such a gorgeous little book. Honestly, it was a cover buy but it looks like it will have loads of cute little tidbits of information in! I couldn’t not add it to my collection.

Shakespeare: Ideas in Profile by Paul Edmonson (Profile Books 2015): I couldn’t resist this amazing/adorable looking book. It looks like it’s gonna be such a good read. I think out of all the Shakespeare books, I will read this one first.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (Usborne 2016): This was a real tip top find in the Bristol Oxfam shop. I love finding high profile YA in charity shops! This is on my immediate TBR as it has a trans main character and I have never read a book like that before. Oh, and it’s
s own voices! Yay!

Futhermore by Tahereh Mafi (Puffin 2016): When I saw this on the shelf I grabbed it SO quick. I’m so happy to have it. I have wanted to read it for ages and it is the most beautiful book! I just love the sound of the book and it’ll be great to jump into some middle grade!

20170430_154130[1]

 

So there you have it! These are all the lovely books I got in April! I have been very lucky this month.

What book do you think I should pick up first?

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “April Book Haul!

  1. You can read Shakespeare? I love his darker works like Macbeth but I can’t read it, even with help! Impressive! Really like the selection, good taste 😀 (which I knew you did have anyway 😉 ) xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

