Wrap Up

April Reading Wrap Up!

In April I only got around to reading six books, which is a lot less than previous months. This is because university lectures are now over and I was able to pick up books I really wanted to read. This is obvious because I gave all these books at least 4 stars! So let’s get into it…

 

Doing It!: Let’s Talk About Sex by Hannah Witton (2017)

Rating: ★★★★1/2
Genre: Non fiction/Memoir
Publisher: Wren and Rook
Format: Physical ARC sent from publisher.

I really enjoyed Hannah’s book. I think she’s done a really good job with it! Not only is it entertaining, but it’s also really informative. It covers a huge range of different topics and doesn’t shy away from the nitty gritty, which is really important with these kinds of books. Since reading the book, I have fallen in love with Hannah’s youtube channel, she’s a wonderful woman! If you want to here more in depth thoughts, you can check out my review here. 

Key Point: This is not your typical youtube book. Hannah put a lot of work in and it shows! 

 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Walker books.
Format: My own copy.

The Hate U Give should be required reading, to be honest. It is such a heart wrenching story with amazing characters by an amazing writer. Angie is such an amazing woman and is not afraid to speak up when things are wrong. You will read this and find the main character, sixteen year old Starr to be a total inspiration. The book was written as a response to the Black Lives Matter movement and follows star dealing with her best friend Khalil, who was unarmed, being shot by a white police officer. Again, if you want to read my more in depth thoughts, you can check out my review here. 

Key Point: The hype for this book is REAL and I strongly advise you get on it.

 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Screenplay by J.K Rowling (2016)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Screenplay/Fantasy/Anything in the Wizarding World has its own genre
Publisher: Little Brown
Format: Gift from mum!

This is such a wonderful little keepsake to have. I’m sot sure you would necessarily read this before watching the film, but I head a great time reading along with the film! As a drama student, I love anything like that and seeing how stuff works. I loved seeing particularly the (stage?) directions, some of them were really funny. The story is great, the film is great, J.K Rowling is great.

Key Point: A must have for any Potter fan!

 

A Practical Guide To Working in Theatre by Gill Foreman (2009)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Non Fiction
Publisher: Methuen Drama
Format: My own copy from a charity shop.

I just happened to see this in the non fiction section of the Oxfam shop in London on Bloomsbury Street and couldn’t resist. I sat and read it in one sitting and it was really helpful! Some of the stuff I already knew, hence the four stars but it still covered a great range of subjects and jobs within the theatre. From backstage to admin, it covers a great deal of the ins and outs of a proper working theatre.

Key Point: I will keep this for reference for a long time – such a good resource.

 

The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson (2016)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Fairytale retelling/Christian lit
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Format: Audible audiobook.

I got into Melanie’s Hagenheim series purely to get to this book, which is a retelling of my all time favourite, Rapunzel. It had a lot of similarities to the original story and also the Disney take which I really liked. I often forget these books are Christian lit until the characters mention praying or the Bible, and then I remember and I love it. I completely believed the romance and Melanie has continued her reign as Queen of the fairytale retellings.

Key Point: I’m currently reading the next one, which is the last one to be published (but there are more on the way, yay!) and it is a Little Mermaid retelling!

 

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (2007)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Penguin Books
Format: My own copy.

This was a reread. I loved this book two years ago and I still love it now! I reread it because I am planning to do a comparison with the Netflix series (which I also loved!). I have been willing all series watchers to also read the book because it is such a different experience. I just love the writing so much.

Key Point: I genuinely think this book (and the series) are timeless. If you haven’t read the book, you really should. (It carries the same trigger warnings as the show though, please bear that in mind.)

So as you can see, I read some really wonderful books this month!! Have you ready any of them?

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “April Reading Wrap Up!

  1. I’ve been so compelled to read “Thirteen Reasons Why” but it seems to be no one has anything good to say. Glad to see someone enjoyed it ! Makes me want to pick it up for sure.

    Like

      1. 110% makes sense. I’m reading Carve The Mark right now and even though it’s been flagged and problematic I’m really enjoying it ! So I probably will pick it up

        Like

Leave a Reply

