Discussion

Why Every Potter Fan Should Go And See The Films In Concert

So last weekend me and my mum went on a little trip to London to see the Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone film at the Royal Albert Hall, accompanied by a live orchestra. It was as amazing as you could imagine and I knew I just had to talk about it…

It was without a doubt the most magical experience. The Royal Albert Hall was hands down the most perfect venue. It was pretty much sold out so we were in a massively beautiful hall with over 5,000 other Potterheads. It was my firsSnapchat-1184847503.jpgt time at the Albert Hall and I completely fell in love with it. As a classical music lover, I was completely bowled over by how amazing the music sounded.

All the musicians were completely flawless but without a doubt, the conductor stole the show. He was such a good host and he encouraged the audience to get involved and cheer for our favourite characters/houses, which was really fun.

 

(For those wondering, it seemed like there were more Slytherins in than any other, either that or they just shout the loudest). Another real stand out where the choir. It is so easy to forget that John Williams’ iconic composition has a choir in, let alone a live choir. They really did take my breath away and were such a lovely little surprise. It was honestly the most amazing atmosphere, it was like we were all watching the film for the first time all over again. I must say, at times during the film, you forget you’re watching a live orchestra and then you suddenly remember and it’s just the most amazing thing.

Obviously, me and mum got emotional. Mum cries at everything and I cry if she cries. Hands down the most amazing moment was when everyone cheered for people in the credits. Matthew Lewis, Tom Felton etc got the standard woop from the crowd but when John Hurt and particularly Alan Rickman’s name came up, everyone was just silent apart from a slow swell of tumultuous applause. It really got to me and was such a beautiful, respectful moment. It was truly magical and reinforced how all Potter fans are just part of a huge community.

 

One thing I will say though, and I was quite surprised is that there was quite slim pickings on the meSnapchat-834487884rchandise front. Me and mum decided to make a point of going to the Platfrom 9 3/4s shop in Kings Cross Station, so if you’re considering going to the other concerts in the series, I’d add this onto your trip. It’s super easy to get to on the tube and it’ll add that little extra Potter sparkle to your day. Mum was kind enough to gift me a Hogwarts scarf, which was so sweet and I bought myself a silver Deathly Hallows necklace.

This is going to be a big series, I think they’re going to do all eight?! I am definitely going to go to a few others but maybe not at the Albert Hall as, as you can imagine, the tickets aren’t cheap. But I’m definitely glad I went to at least the first one.

Its an international tour so you can check out tickets here!

If you are lucky enough to get the chance to go I definitely would. As a totally obsessed Potter fan, it gave me a whole new appreciation for the music. I didn’t realise I needed it until I went. I felt so much pride as a Potter fan and a Gryffindor to be surrounded by so many other fans. I cant really describe it, you need to go yourself really!

Do you think you’ll go? What film are you most excited to see live? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading, or watching, or listening! xo

Leave a Reply

