Wrap Up

May Reading Wrap Up!

So university  is over…May was a super busy so naturally I read a rather large amount of nine books?! Some I loved and some fell flat…some YA, some adult, some classics. So let’s get into it…

 

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Hellig (2016)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Sent from publisher.

I read this for the Bookclub and we were all pretty excited to get into it! I really liked the ocncept of this book. Time traveeling pirates…whaaaat! However, I just don’t think it was my kind of book. Having said that, it had a really intense and intruiging ending! I am hoping to pick up the second book in June!

Key Point: This is a duology and would be a great pick for diversity bingo!

 

The Silent Songbird by Melanie Dickerson (2016)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: YA Fantasy/Christian Lit/Fairytale Retelling.
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Format: Earc from Netgalley/Bought on audible.

Another great installment of Melanie’s Hagenheim series! A non-magical Little Mermaid retelling with a morally ambiguous protagonist and a cracking bit of romance. I love her books oh so much and I cannot wait to see what she comes out with next.

Key Point: Next up from her is an Aladdin and Mulan retelling!

 

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (2016)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Usbourne
Format: Bought myself from charity shop.

An own voices trans novel that I was so excited to get in to. There is no denying that htis novel has a huge message behind it and I applaud that no end. However, for me, it had many other issues and trigger warnings that I just could not get on board with.

Key Point: My friend Kelly, however, loved it! Check her blog out here.

 

With All My Love by Patricia Scanlan (2013)

Rating: ★★★.5
Genre: Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Format: Borrowed from mum/Audible

I picked this up as part of my Mum’s Must Reads blog challenge and it was a fun book! It follows a lot of family drama and secrets and lies and gives us a cast of frustrating but loveable characters. I will definitely pick up more of her books for mum as she really likes them.

Key Point: My mum read this book in less than 24 hours!

 

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence (2017)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Format: Borrowed from boyfriend.

My boyfriend kept asking to pick this book up again and again, saying I’d like it and he was right! This is such a great book and has the best ending I have read this year so far. I actually cried it was so good! Cannot wait for book 2.

Key Point: If you liked Jay Kristoff’s Neveright, you’ll enjoy this!

 

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill (2017)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Adult Literary Fiction
Publisher: Riverrun Books
Format: Sent as an Earc from Netgalley.

This just wasn’t for me. The blurb/synopsis promised so much that just wasn’t delivered. It had a lot of trigger warnings for sexual abuse, drugs etc. O’Neill’s delicious writing style was not enough to distract me from this and the lack of plot.

Key Point: This has been nominated for many awards so I expected a lot more!

 

The Twins at St Clares #1 by Enid Blyton (1942/2016)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Egmont
Format: Bought myself.

I picked this up both for Mel’s Series Crackdown readathon and also my Mum’s Must Reads blog challenge. I really enjoyed this. This was a great introduction to the characters, the school and the time/tone of the books. It provided a little escape for me as I love a good boarding school in a book.

Key Point: My mum read these when she was a young teen, and was keen to have me give them ago (even though I haven’t been a young teen for 10 years *sob sob*).

 

The O’Sullivan Twins (The Twins at St Clares #2) by Enid Blyton (1942/2016)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Egmont
Format: Bought myself.

Again, this was part of Mel’s Series Crackdown readathon and also my Mum’s Must Reads blog challenge. I really enjoyed this one too! It has tricks and midnight feasts and some very questionable characters. It’s just a good bit of fun, really.

Key Point: I’m looking forward to seeing how the books change as the girls get older.

 

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: Earc sent from Netgalley for review.

I decided to take a break from Enid Blyton and read this on my three hour journey home, and I finished it that evening. It is absolutely glorious. A kick ass female main character, an insight into the culture of India and a wonderful wonderful romance, this is a must read for 2017 for SURE.

Key Point: It was so good it got a place on my absolute faves list. I can’t wait to see what Menon writes next!

 

So there are all the books I read in May! Have you read any? What did you think of them? I read a real different array of genres and it was such a fun reading month. I can’t wait to see what June brings!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “May Reading Wrap Up!

  1. Great post honey pie! Thanks for linking to my blog!
    I’m definitely going to read Red Sister this summer, I feel like I’ll need to dedicate some serious time to it so going to wait until I have 6 weeks of freedom! When Dimple Met Rishi made my heart melt so much ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

