Review

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – Spoiler Free Review

I received a copy of When Dimple Met Rishi on Netgalley in return for an honest review. This is the book EVERYONE is talking about. This summer’s cute contemporary. It’s Menon’s glorious debut novel and in my opinion, all the hype is worth it! So let’s get into the review… 

In this standalone novel we follow two Indian-American teenagers who have been put into an arranged marriage. Rishi, a nerdy yet dishy guy knows. Dimple, a strong and fiery soon to be woman – does not. As you can imagine, hilarity ensues and I knew, right at the beginning of the book, when Dimple, in a panic, throws an iced coffee (I love iced coffee) over Rishi…that I was gonna fall in love with this book. The two main characters are SO adorable but also really well-rounded and developed. They both come from really dedicated families which you don’t see a lot in YA. It’s a really refreshing element and I am a massive fan of influential f

28458598amilies in YA. I got through the book in less than 12 hours and I think a lot of that is to do with the amazing characters. I also love dual perspective, which is a particular favourite literary device of mine. I really enjoyed following Dimple’s perspective and watching her chase her dream in programming etc which is generally seen as a “male” subject. This didn’t hold her back though and she is such a strong willed and ambitious character.

I also really enjoyed the setting of a college summer programme, I felt the excitement buzzing around the characters and it made for really interesting reading as both our characters face competition from the peers both academically and just in life. And I will say…and this is tough competition!…the kissing scenes rivalled that in Wing Jones! (My probable fav kissing scene to date.)

I loved learning about their culture and what their life is like and that’s one of the many reasons why #OwnVoices is so important! We get windows into lives we don’

hype without a doubt and will for sure be on my fav books of the year list!

t know anything about and I think that’s really exciting, don’t you?

I loved everything about this book including the face cover and I usually hater faces on covers. This

book really is a triumph and I cannot wait to see what Sandhya Menon writes next!

An adorable, well thought out, fluffy and comforting read! Worth the hype!

Rating: ★★★★★

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

Leave a Reply

