Discussion

Five of my Favourite Fictional Fathers!

So in honour of Father’s Day in the UK, I have decided to compile a list of some of my favourite fictional fathers, or father figures. They’re in no particular order, so let’s get into it!…

 

Big Mav from The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas:

If you are yet to pick up THE Book of 2017, you definitely should. It follows the story of Starr who witnesses her unarmed friend Khalil being shot by a white police officer. One thing that struck me most about going to talks where Angie was speaking was how much of an emphasis she put on the family. There is a LOT going on in this book and she could have easily just brushed past the element of family like so much other YA does, but not here! She said “Starr needed her family”, which is so true. Her dad, Big Mav is such a good father. He has a modest job owning a shop and puts great values into the minds of his kids. He adores Starr and wants nothing more than to see her succeed.  When her world DOES crash around her, her dad is there for her in every way he can and I love him for that.

Lara Jean’s Dad from the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before Trilogy by Jenny Han:

I have yet to finish the trilogy (I am SO excited to) but I adore Lara Jean’s dad. He is such a great father to her, Margot and younger Kitty. The family haven’t had the easiest of times and their dad is really really strong. He supports them but also gets firm with them when they need it. He was a real highlight f the book for me and I love the focus on food in the book. I can’t wait to dive back into the comforting world of Lara Jean and her romance woes.

Sirius Black from the Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling:

Sirius is, at least before Harry grows up, Harry’s biggest chance at having a family. Sure, he feels included by the Weasleys and they are really good for him but nothing quite Trumps Sirius’s love for Harry. Harry does struggle in the early books with his self acceptance and I think Sirius makes a huge difference to that. Sirius is flawed and therefore, fails to see Harry’s. They love each other unconditionally and I can’t help wondering what would have happened if (Spoilers) Scabbers didn’t escape after book three.

Matthew Cuthbert from Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgmomery:

I’ve only read the first book in this series so can only talk about that but I love how much potential Matthew sees in Anne. If it wasn’t for his instant love for her, the books would have been very different. He sees past her insecurities and loves her unconditionally. When everything falls apart around the Cuthbert’s he pulls through for his sister and Anne.

Mr Fox from Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl:

I love this book and I love how kind and caring Mr Fox is. He even loses his tail to make sure his family gets food! It’s a pretty old book so it isn’t the least problematic book out there but I do love how supportive he is for his little family.

So there are some of my fav fictional fathers! Do you agree with my list? Who would you put on your list?

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading and watching! ox

 

 

6 thoughts on “Five of my Favourite Fictional Fathers!

Leave a Reply

