Wrap Up

June Reading Wrap Up!

June was a busy month and I got through seven books! I even discovered a new all time fav! So let’s get into it…

Summer Term at St Clares (The Twins At t Clares #3) by Enid Blyton (1943/2005)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Middle Grade Classic
Publisher: Egmont Books.
Format: My own copy.

I read this for Series Crackdown and it was really fun. I did notice, though, how similar the first 3 books are.

Key Point: I also read this as part of my Mum’s Must Reads Challenge as she read and loved these books when she was young!

Second Form at St Clares (The Twins At t Clares #4) by Enid Blyton (1943/2005)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Middle Grade Classic
Publisher: Egmont Books.
Format: My own copy.

Another for Series Crackdown! I really enjoyed the heavier influence of ‘The Midnight Feast’ aspect in this story. I’m looking forward to going back after having a break as all of these stories were kind of blending into one!

Key Point: This series has nine books so I have a lot still to go!

I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith (1948/2004)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Classic
Publisher: Vintage Classics.
Format: My own copy, bought from a charity shop.

I really enjoyed the writing style of this, it was so poetic and addictive. However, the plot kind of let me down! It was nice to just dive into some nice writing though.

Key Point: If you’re looking for some escapism, this is the book for you. It really does have beautiful writing.

The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere #2) by Heidi Heilig (2017)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Finished copy sent from publisher.

This is the 2nd book in Heidi’s duology, which, if I’m honest, fell a bit flat for me. You can read my full review of the books here.

Key Point: A few of the girls in The Book Club really enjoyed the books so give it a go if it intrigues you!

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera (2017)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Format: Audiobook via audible.

I really enjoyed this for the most part! It’s romantic, witty but also really powerful. I can’t wait for Adam’s next book! I just hope the ending is better as the ending of this one let me down just a touch.

Key Point: This is a great diverse read!

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera (2017)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Format: Audiobook via audible.

I really enjoyed this for the most part! It’s romantic, witty but also really powerful. I can’t wait for Adam’s next book! I just hope the ending is better as the ending of this one let me down just a touch.

Key Point: This is a great diverse read!

Want by Cindy Pon (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Sci-fi/Dystopian
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: Audiobook via audible.

This book is absolutely brilliant! I honestly just loved it so so much. It’s full of diversity, it’s action-packed, it is JUST WONDERFUL. An instant all time fav. READ IT!

Key Point: I can’t believe we have to wait until 2019 for the sequel!

Day 7 (Cell 7 #2) by Kerry Drewery (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: Earc via netgalley

This is the action-packed, intense and nail biting sequel to Kerry’s Wonderful Cell 7. These books are brilliant and if you haven’t given them a go, definitely do! I read it in pretty much one sitting, which shows how great it is.

Key Point: You could easily read these books in a weekend! Give them a try!

 

A bit of a mixed month for me! Have you read any of them? What was the best book you read in June? Let me know down below!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

Leave a Reply

