Discussion

My Hypothetical #Booktubeathon TBR + Readathon Tips!

So the #Booktubeathon is almost upon us! I won’t be participating because I don’t own a booktube channel…nor the time if I’m honest! I am so looking forward to watching everyone else’s videos, though. So, in the spirit of the #booktubeathon, I decided to create a hypothetical TBR! Hopefully this will also give you a few tips when it comes to choosing a TBR for readathons, too!…

There are Seven reading challenges and you can either combine them or pick one for each. I decided to just pick one for each:

1/ Read a book with a person on the cover: So the key to a readathon is to read as many books as possible, right? So why not throw a short little Middle Grade into your TBR? It’s quick and it will make you feel like you’ve really accomplished something. I’m half way through Enid Blyton’s St Clare’s series so I would pick up book 5 of that Third Form of St Clare’s (which is actually by Pamela Cox) for this challenge.
2/ Read a hyped book: For this one I would combine The Book Club reading challenge for this month and read Caraval by Stephenie Garber. We put out polls and our followers voted, and I was given Caraval! It’s massively hyped and my read of it is so ridiculously overdue, that it only seems right really. (Shoutout to Kelly for the signed copy).
3/ Finish a book in one day: For this challenge it makes sense to choose something you can get through quickly. With this in mind, I would probably choose a graphic novel. My brother got me Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks for my birthday, so I would probably read that. I really enjoy graphic novels as well, so this challenge is a great excuse to indulge yourself in a new graphic novel!
4/ Read about a character that is very different from you: I really like this challenge because it gives you the opportunity to pick up something diverse! As I have a ridiculously long Netgalley tbr, I would pick something to read off there. I would pick up Like Other Girls by Clare Hennessy, which features Lauren. Lauren is, as far as I can tell from the synopsis, likes girls and she also goes to a “posh” girls school. I also believe this book is set in Ireland and the book deals with teenage pregnancy. These are all aspects of Lauren’s character which I have absolutely no experience of! I really like Claire, she’s a buddy of mine, so it’s kind of a crime I haven’t read this yet! (Sorry Claire).
5/ Finish a book completely outdoors: Anthologies are also a really good idea for readathons because you can just read little snippets here and there. As it is summer time, I would pick up Summer Days and Summer Nights, which was edited by Stephanie Perkins. I would use my breaks at work to read a story and also the park near where I live to get through all 12 stories. I am SO excited to read this, I really do love short story collections.
6/ Read a book you bought because of the cover: I already own this in an ARC copy, which I got from a charity shop, but its finished cover is also totally gorgeous! I have heard only good things about The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr. It’s quite short and it packs an emotional punch so I’m sure this would be a great choice.
7/ Read seven books: Just to mix my TBR up a bit, I would pick a totally different book for this challenge. I decided to go with poetry and would pick up Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. Again, I have heard nothing but good things and it’ll be nice to have a book I can really digest and take my time on rather than feeling like I have to rush through a novel.
I think this is an ambitious but doable TBR and hopefully it helped to give you some inspiration!

 

 

Are you doing #Booktubeathon? What’s on your TBR? Have you read any of the books on my metaphorical TBR? Let me know!

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

3 thoughts on “My Hypothetical #Booktubeathon TBR + Readathon Tips!

  1. This would be a great week’s reading! I love the St Clare’s books (Kitty is my favourite book of the series, I think), and I’ve been meaning to get Summer Days and Summer Nights ever since the paperback came out! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

