Discussion · Personal

10 Ways To Beat The Non-YALC Blues!

Not going to YALC? Me neither! I’m pretty gutted about it so I decided to sit down and have a think about how I could distract myself from the fiery burning envy I feel in my chest every time I go on my Twitter feed or look at Snapchat. I’ve compiled a list of 10 things we can all do to get through the weekend! After all, it will blow over soon and there’s always next year!…

1. Go to a super awesome amazing event of your own!: I’m lucky enough to be travelling home this weekend for one of my best friend’s 21st birthday. This means that I wont have a lot of time to feel too bummed out about not being at YALC. It doesn’t have to be as extreme as a big birthday, you can just see a friend or hang out with family, anything that will bring you happiness and give you a chance to make memories!

2. Start a book that WON’T be at YALC that’s been on your TBR for ages!: I think this is great because by picking up a book that won’t be at YALC, you won’t be thinking about how you could have been there to get it signed. This could maybe be a classic? If so, I’d recommend Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. If contemporary (sci-fi) is more your style, I really enjoyed Want by Cindy Pon recently, which I don’t think is at YALC and Cindy definitely isn’t.

3. Have a Harry Potter or Disney marathon!: Nothing puts me in a better mood than watching some of my favourite films! Harry Potter is always a good choice. I don’t know about you though, but I always have a list of Disney films in my head I want to watch? So far on my list I have Oliver and Company, Mulan (1 and 2), Pocahontas and I have the biggest urge to re-watch Frozen for what is probably the 200th time.

4. Finally make some progress on your inevitably overgrown Netgalley TBR: If you’re going to do some reading, you might as well make it productive! I have some embarrassingly overdue Netgalley reads that I really should have got to months ago. Doing some more productive reading will make you feel that little bit better.

5. Bulk write some outstanding blogposts: This is also a pretty productive one but why not make a head start on all those blogposts you’ve been meaning to write for ages? I’ve got nine that I’ve got notes for that will surely keep me busy! As it’s the end of the month, you could always do a reading wrap up? I would love to read it!

6. Start a new project you’ve always wanted to do: You know that novel you have a plan for? The jumper you want to knit? That photo album or bullet journal you’ve yet to make a start on? Now’s the time! Throw yourself into something completely new and exciting to distract you from every thing else going on. No time like the present, right?

7. Take part in the Series Crackdown Readathon!: Series Crackdown is a 10 day long readathon with daily sprints where you can get through that series you’ve been holding on your TBR for months. I’ll even be hosting a couple of sprints. Check out the official Twitter here. It’s going to be so much fun!

VQfu5UMn_400x400

8. Take part in the Non-YALC Pity Party Chat!: My buddy Rachel is planning on doing a chat on Sunday 7-8pm for all those who aren’t at YALC so we can all chat and enjoy each other’s company. Why don’t you join us? Find her on Twitter here.

9. Mute #YALC on Social Media!: Okay this one might seem a LITTLE extreme. But in all honesty, if it’s really getting to you, why not? That’s what the mute button is there for! I will probably do it and I have no shame! Don’t go on Snapchat stories and ignore Instagram for a while if that helps too.

10. Chat with me!: Other than partying on sat night I have nothing planned but reading, writing and blogging. So let’s be friends? Find me on Twitter here and we can wallow in our Non-YALC self-pity together.

What do you think of my tips? Do you have any of your own? Or maybe you’re going to YALC? Let me know down below! 

 

YALC_LOGO_2016_web

 

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “10 Ways To Beat The Non-YALC Blues!

  1. Thanks for this! I think I’ll be doing a few of these.
    Harry Potter is on every weekend in my house it seems haha!
    I’m composing lots of blog posts and scheduling too (super organised!)
    My 2-year-old nephew is coming over too, so he’ll be a BIG distraction.
    Have fun at your friend’s 21st! 🙂 x

    Like

  2. I’ve decided to go annoy my mom tonight [Haven’t seen her in three weeks]; tomorrow I’m going book-hunting in Brussels because.. I have money left-over this month [how did I even do that?!] so that means: BOOKS. [Anti-YALC-book-therapy, you know..] and.. then I’m going to read, read, read the rest of the weekend. Haha.
    [And maybe already book a hotel for YALC next year because I’m so not doing this two years in a row.]

    Like

Leave a Reply

