Review

Day 7 by Kerry Drewery – Spoiler Free Review

I received an E-ARC of Day 7 from Netgalley and the publisher in return for an honest review! If you know me, you’ll know that me and series don’t really mix, but the Cell 7 series has serious potential to change that. Day 7 is an absolutely brilliant sequel and it’s got me SO excited for the finale of the trilogy. So let’s get into the review…

First of all I have to say that it was SO nice to be back in the twisted subtle Dystopia, which is a really weird thing to say but Kerry’s writing is just so flawless that you find yourself just settling back in. At first it was a little bit difficult to remember who everyone was and there is a lot of different perspectives. I was able to get to grips with it pretty quickly, though and I found myself absolutely flying through the book.

With this in mind, time goes by very quick in this novel and it packs a lot of action into a short space of time, the least amount of sittings you can read it in, the better. I pretty much read it in one sitting at that made the experience that little bit sweeter for sure.

If you’ve read Cell 7, you’ll know that the book series is based around a reality TV show that determines if someone gets the death penalty or not for a crime they may or may not have committed. This really quirky and intriguing dynamic is continued into book 2 but now it has even more political intrigue/government corruption. You find yourself, as a reader, in that situation, thinking how you would vote given you know a lot more than the people in the world. This makes the book really immersive and has you constantly changing your opinion. Kerry builds this in such a way that you can’t tear away from the book, you have to keep reading until you know the answer.

514Ei+CjXxL.SX316.jpg

She has a great cast of characters which some you will love and some you will hate and some will surprise you! Each one is deep and meaningful and it’s been a while since I’ve felt THIS invested in the lives of characters, which is apt because, in this book, their lives LITERALLY hang by the balance. (My heart is pounding just thinking about it).

The ending is fast paced, shocking and features loads of twists and turns. It left me feeling very satisfied as a reader but I could tell that it wasn’t over yet! If you are yet to start this series, I definitely would, it’s absolutely wonderful and I cannot wait for the finale of the trilogy!

I wonderful sequel with even more action, intrigue and twists (if that is even possible!) 

Rating: ★★★★★

Have you read Cell 7 and/or Day 7? What did you think? Are you excited for the sequel? Let me know down below! 

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

2 thoughts on “Day 7 by Kerry Drewery – Spoiler Free Review

Leave a Reply

