Wrap Up

A Slightly Late July Wrap Up!

Happy Book Lovers Day, fellow bookworms! July was a busy month. I turned 23, I graduated from university and me and my boyfriend got our first non-student flat! I also had a few days away in Wales (easy to tell when in the month) and I this is late because of said first non-student flat. Despite the hectic month, I managed to read 10 books! Some I loved…some I really didn’t. So let’s get into the wrap up….

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki (2004)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Contemporary Graphic Novel
Publisher: First Second
Format: My own copy.

I re-read this every time I go on holiday in the car because it’s an easy read and it has perfect summer holiday nostalgia vibes! It has a really nice art style and a simple but fun plot.

Key Point: I really want to start reading more graphic novels, so leave your recs below!

 

Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin (2006)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Format: My own copy.

Again, this was my annual re-read. I love this book and it is one of my faves of all time. It has such a good story with great characters and I feel really homely whenever I re-read it.

Key Point: If you haven’t read this yet, I strongly suggest you pick it up!

 

The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Sphere
Format: My own copy.

Jenny Colgan is essential beach reading for me and this was no exception. It has cute characters, a nice setting of a Scottish Seaside town and a plot with lot of twists and turns. I always fly through her books and this no exception.

Key Point: I really want to start reading more graphic novels, so leave your recs below!

 

Meet Me At Beachcomber Bay by Jill Mansell (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Headline Review
Format: My own copy.

Here sadly ends my 5* book streak. This was my first Mansell and I really liked it! It was a really fun and had a lot of great characters. I really enjoyed the subtle diversity in this too so if you’re looking for a beachy read with a good plot to it, then this is the book for you!

Key Point: I read this pretty much in one sitting so it’s definitely a good book for if you are on holiday!

 

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill (2015)

Rating: ★★
Genre: YA Dystopian
Publisher: Riverrun
Format: Audible

This promised a lot and for me, it failed to deliver. I didn’t find the stroy paarticularly engaging and I didn’t warm to any of the characters. I liked the concept but did not enjoy the execution.

Key Point: I still wan to read her Only Ever Yours, though!

 

Becoming You And I by Josh Baldwin (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Self-Published
Format: My own copy.

Okay Josh IS my co-author so I may be a tad biased but this was such a great read! It’s a story of friendship, fashion and finding yourself. Definitely read it if you feel like you aren’t reaching your full potential! It teaches us a really important lesson about following our dreams.

Key Point: It also has a really pretty cover, so!

 

Wilde Like Me by Louise Pentland (2017)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Bonnier
Format: My own copy (signed)

For a debut novel, this was wonderful and is in the same league as Carrie Hope Fletcher’s books in that they aren’t “youtuber books”, they are wonderful stories in their own right that stand separate form the success the women have on the internet.

Key Point: I went to an event where I met Louise and she was lovely! I am really looking forward to book #2.

 

Wave Me Goodbye by Jacqueline Wilson (2017)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Doubleday
Format: Audible.

I expected a lot from this book. I was so excited to read a book about evacuees by the most popular Middle Grade author of our time! It was okay, just okay.

Key Point: Some of it was just really realistic but I think it approached the topic of WW2 very well.

 

Broken Branches by M.Jonathan Lee (2017)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Adult Mystery/Thriller
Publisher: Hideaway Fall
Format: Sent from publisher for review.

This is the first title from new publishers, Hideaway Fall. It focuses on a family and a curse that seems to follow them around. I really enjoyed the writing style but didn’t get on with the plot at all.

Key Point: I’m looking forward to seeing what Hideaway publishes next. 


Another Place by Matthew Crow (2017)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: YA Contemporary Mystery
Publisher: Atom Books
Format: Physical ARC sent from publisher.

Guys, I ABSOLUTELY ADORED this. It was honestly so great. It’s Pretty Little Liars meets 13 Reasons Why with an emotional and realistic view of mental health. I will gush about this book forever.

Key Point: Atom Books are one of my new favourite publishers! 

 

I read some great and some not so great books last month. In august, I’m hoping to make some serious headway with my horrifically overdue Netgalley books! Have you read any of these books? Do you want to? Let me know down below! 

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading. Look at the Book Club here or even follow me on snapchat @rosiefreckle to see live updates of my reading.

Thank you lovelies and happy reading! ox

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Slightly Late July Wrap Up!

  1. Woah, get you Rosie! That’s a lot of books! Awww, I loved Jacqueline Wilson when I was younger, I should read her newest books but I’m so self conscious of being an adult but buying a kids book! I need to get over it and not care what people think!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

