Wrap Up

Wrapping Up 2020 So Far: Books 1-10

Hi hello, hi. I suck at blogging but I am TRYING. So here, are the first 10  books I read this year.

 

1. Christmas Secrets By The Sea by Jane Lovering (2018)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Farrago
Format: Netgalley Ebook

I finished this off as I was reading it over xmas, it was pretty forgettable. Not the best start to the year!

Christmas Secrets by the Sea (Seasons by the Sea, #1)

2. Twlefth Night by William Shakespeare (1601)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Classic Comedy Play
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Format: Scribd Audiobook

I enjoyed this more this time around. It really is a great story and has several subtle nuances on sexuality and gender. It’s so far ahead of its time!

Twelfth Night

 

3. Dear Evan Hansen by Val Emmich (2018)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Penguin
Format: Finished Copy Sent By Publisher

I enjoyed this more this time around, too! It was a 5* read. probably because I was able to listen to the songs from the musical at the same time. It’s a firm favourite now.

Dear Evan Hansen

 

4. Tweet Cute by Emma Lord (2020)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Format: Netgalley Ebook

This was your usual cutesy YA Romance, nothing remarkable but still enjoyable.

Tweet Cute

 

5. Henry VI Part 1 by William Shakespeare (1623)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Classic History Play
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Format: Scribd Audiobook

Ack, try as I might I just cannot get on with these! I think it’s the massive cast of characters. I think I would do better to WATCH them but as there’s so many more I want to watch first, I’m not sure when that will happen!

Henry VI, Part 1

 

6. Saving Hamlet by Molly Booth (2016)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy? Contemporary? – It’s literally both!
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Format: Bought my own physical copy

I LOVED this. A book where a stagehand falls into the trapdoor and into an actual Shakespeare production of Hamlet? YES.

Saving Hamlet

 

7. Five On Treasure Island by Enid Blyton (1942)

Rating: ★★★★
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Scrib Audio
Format: Scribd Audiobook

These books are great when you just want a quick adventure story to listen to. They’re very much of their time, but still enjoyable.

Five on a Treasure Island

8. Love Lessons by Jacqueline Wilson (2005)

Rating: ★★
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Doubleday
Format: Bought my own copy from a charity shop

I remember really enjoying this when I was younger but the student-teacher relationship is hella-problematic and doesn’t stand up to the test of time.

Love Lessons

 

9. Henry VI Part 2 by William Shakespeare (1592)

Rating: ★★★
Genre: Classic History Play
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Format: Audibook on Scribd

The Henry plays really are quite meh.

Henry VI, Part 2

 

10. Pages & Co Tilly And The Bookwanderers by Anna James (2018)

Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Format: Audibook on Scribd

Tilly and the Bookwanderers (Pages & Co. #1)

 

There’s the first 10 books I’ve read this year! Have you read any of them? What did you think of them? Let me know down below. 

Happy reading, lovelies xo

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading.

Leave a comment