Tag · Uncategorized

The Racing To Read Book Tag #ReadingRush

So here we are at the end of the reading rush! Wrap up incoming but I managed to read 5.3 (I DNFed 30% in) books in seven days which is great for me! Today I am doing the Racing To Read Book Tag, created by Ariel and Raeleen of The Reading Rush.

You can find their original video here.

Warm Up: A book that stretches your mind?

A book I read recently that really captures the essence of this question is Why I’m No Longer Talking To White People About Race by Rennie Eddo-Lodge. It really opened my eyes to how I need to be more anti-racist and the racism that Black people and other People Of Colour face. Would recommend.

Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race

Start Line: What’s a book that you started but never finished?

During The Reading Rush I started and put down The Gifted The Talented And Me by William Sutcliffe because it had Queerbaiting and just generally bad writing. Would NOT recommend.

The Gifted, the Talented and Me

Sprint: A book you read really quickly?

Again, for the readathon I reread The Story Of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson in one sitting.

The Story of Tracy Beaker (Tracy Beaker, #1)

Marathon: What’s your favorite long book?

I dont have one for this bevause it would be HP5 by she who must not be named.

Hurdles: What’s a book that had ups and downs?

I’d go with S.T.A.G.s and D.O.Gs by M.A Bennett. I still, to this day, have not decided if I love or hate that series.

S.T.A.G.S

Finish Line: A book you were proud to finish?

I don’t have one for this!

Gold Medal: Best book you’ve read during a readathon?

I don’t have a record of all the books I’ve ever read during a readathon but I read the first Percy Jackson this week and fell in love.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

Participation Ribbon: An underrated book you wish got more attention?

I recently read Run, Rebel and Manjeet Mann and I LOVED it but NO ONE is talking about it!

Run, Rebel

 

As I was writing this post, some discourse surfaced on Twitter regarding the treatment of the group book (which I haven’t read but have since added to my tbr) from Black and Creators Of Colour. Please do check this out after reading my post!

Happy reading, lovelies xo

Follow me on twitter for updates on what I’m reading.

Leave a comment